Scafell Pike Map

Scafell Pike is the highest point in the Lake District and is England’s highest mountain in England with an Elevation of 978 metres (3209 feet).

Scafell Pike is a popular climb for recreational and more experienced hill walkers. It is also a part of the Three Peaks Challenge, along with Ben Nevis in Scotland and Snowden, in Wales.

England, unlike Britain as a whole does not have any mountains over 1000 metres of altitude but it does have a few of regions, such as the Lake District, Peak District National Parks, which provide ranges of hills and mountains with plenty to offer the mountain walker and climber. 

There are many ways of defining a mountain. In the UK a mountain is normally defined as a peak of over 610 metres (2000 feet) altitude. Anything below this would be considered a hill. The UK Government in fact rounds this figure down to 600 metres for the purposes of its records.

Prominence is also an important factor and there are two categories which are defined as follows:

Marylins: Prominence of at least 150 metres
Hewitts: Prominence of at least 30 metres

For the purposes of this list we shall consider those with a prominence of at least 150 metres. This naturally excludes some “sub-peaks”, such as Scafell, which is a round 30 metres lower than Scafell Pike.

The five highest peaks in England:

•    Scafell Pike - 978 m (3209 ft), SW Lake District.
•    Helvellyn - 950 m (3117 ft), NE Lake District.
•    Skidded - 931 m (3054 ft), NW Lake District.
•    Great Gable - 899 m (2949 ft), SW Lake District.
•    Cross Fell - 893 m (2930 ft), North Pennines.



I quit the rat-race to live a more adventurous life. This is my journey.